Lansing Receives Three New Council Members; Re-Elects Dunbar

Nov 8, 2017

Three new people are poised to become Lansing city council members in 2018. Incumbent Kathie Dunbar will return. That's the result of the November 7, 2017 election. 

Lansing city council candidates Peter Spadafore (left) and Kathie Dunbar (right)

Out of a 4-way race, former Lansing school board president Peter Spadafore and incumbent Kathie Dunbar received the most votes. They were elected to two at-large council seats. With the election of a new mayor and three new council members, Spadafore said he’s looking forward to a new tone at City Hall.

“I ran on a change of culture," said Spadafore. "That’s what I’ve been talking to people about.  Every single person I spoke with is really excited about a new culture from city council, a new relationship with the mayor and a new chapter for Lansing’s future.”

Click here for Spadafore's appearance on WKAR earlier this year.

Click here for Dunbar's appearance on WKAR earlier this year.

Credit Courtesy photo

In Ward 2, newcomer Jeremy A. Garza defeated incumbent Tina Houghton.

Click here for Garza's appearance on WKAR earlier this year.

Credit Scott Pohl / WKAR

In Ward 4, newcomer and attorney Brian T. Jackson defeated James M. McClurken.

Click here for Jackson's appearance on WKAR earlier this year.

Lansing city council races as of 11:20pm on November 7, 2017.
Credit Ingham County Elections