© 2024 Michigan State University Board of Trustees
Public Media from Michigan State University
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Big Night for Dems; Two Mid-Michigan GOP Congressmen Retain Seats

flickr/League of Women Voters of California

Democrats won or retained many Mid-Michigan political offices Tuesday, with a few exceptions.  Here's a snapshot of some key races and issues.

U.S. Senate: Democrat Debbie Stabenow easily defeated GOP challenger Pete Hoekstra, a former congressman from West Michigan.

U.S. House:  In the 7th congressional district, Republican Tim Walberg defeated Democratic challenger Kurt Haskell to win another term.  In the 8th, GOP incumbent Mike Rogers edged out Democrat Lance Enderle, who also ran against Rogers in 2010.

Michigan House Districts:  Democrats swept four key Lansing-area state house districts.  In the 67th district, former Lansing fire chief Tom Cochran soundly defeated Republican Jeff Oesterle.

Ingham County Commissioner Andy Schor beat GOP challenger Tim Moede to claim the 68th House seat.

Former East Lansing mayor Sam Singh will represent Michigan's 69th district, defeating Republican Susan McGillicuddy, the current Meridian Township supervisor.

In a re-match of their 2010 contest, Democrat Theresa Abed turned the tables on incumbent GOP state representative Deb Shaugnessy, who won the 71st House district two years ago.

Ingham County:  Democrat Barb Byrum will be the next county clerk.  Democratic incumbents retained several key county offices, including Prosecuting Attorney Stuart Dunnings III, Sheriff Gene Wriggelsworth, Drain Commissioner Pat Lindemann, Register of Deeds Curtis Hertel, Jr, and Treasurer Eric Schertzing.

Local Millages/Ballot Items:  Ingham County voters said yes to a .52 mill increase to fund a health service program for the uninsured.  Lansing city voters approved the sale of 48 acres of the former Red Cedar Golf Course for development.  The East Lansing public library millage gained approval, as did the proposed Meridian Township central fire station.

Judicial Races:  Jim Jamo defeated Ken Ross to become the next judge on the 30th Circuit Court in Lansing.  Andrea Larkin defeated outgoing 69th state representative Mark Meadows to secure a judgeship with 54B District Court.

Statewide Proposals:  All six statewide ballot proposals were defeated.

For a full list of winners and approvals, click here.

Kevin Lavery served as a general assignment reporter and occasional local host for Morning Edition and All Things Considered before retiring in 2023.
Journalism at this station is made possible by donors who value local reporting. Donate today to keep stories like this one coming. It is thanks to your generosity that we can keep this content free and accessible for everyone. Thanks!