© 2022 Michigan State University Board of Trustees
Public Media from Michigan State University
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00
0:00
Available On Air Stations
Politics & Government

Bridge Magazine: Facts About New Marijuana Legalization In Michigan

WKARNews_Marijuana_FINAL_16X9.jpg

Bridge magazine reporter Alexandra Schmidt answered some of the biggest questions about Michigan's legalization of recreational marijuana law, approved by voters on November 6, 2018. 

Here are some of the answers Schmidt answered in her article for Bridge magazine.

When does the law take effect?

About a month. Michigan’s Constitution states that approved initiatives “take effect 10 days after the date of the official declaration of the vote.” That doesn’t happen until the election is certified by the Board of State Canvassers, a process that usually takes about three weeks, said Fred Woodhams, spokesman for Michigan’s Department of State.

Who can use marijuana?

 

You must be at least 21 years old to get or ingest cannabis in any form. Those under the age of 21 are not permitted to possess, consume, or sell marijuana products.

Once it takes effect, what can I do?

 

The law allows users to carry 2.5 ounces in public and at home have up to 10 ounces and 12 plants, as long as they are not grown in a location visible from outside.

Click on this sentence to read the entire article.

Related Content
News from WKAR will never be behind a paywall. Ever. We need your help to keep our coverage free for everyone. Please consider supporting the news you rely on with a donation today. You can support our journalism for as little as $5. Every contribution, no matter the size, propels our vital coverage. Thank you.