© 2023 Michigan State University Board of Trustees
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

November 2021 Election Guide: What Greater Lansing voters need to know

I Voted Stickers

Updated on October 20 at 5:25 p.m. ET

Local races are dotting ballots in Greater Lansing. Here's what you need to know before you cast your vote in the Nov. 2 election.

How do I vote?

Polls are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. on Nov. 2 for in-person voters. You have until 8 p.m. that day to register to vote if you aren't registered already. Click here to find your polling place.

Absentee ballots need to be received by mail, drop box or at a city clerk's office by 8 p.m. on Election Day.

RELATED: Lansing Gets Ready To Mail Out First Round Of Absentee Ballots For November Election

Who's running in Greater Lansing?

An * denotes an incumbent.

 From left, Andy Schor and Kathie Dunbar
From left, Andy Schor and Kathie Dunbar

City of Lansing Mayor

Andy Schor* is facing off against City Councilmember Kathie Dunbar in a race for Lansing mayor. All city of Lansing races are nonpartisan and winners serve four-year terms.

WKAR All Things Considered Host Sophia Saliby interviewed Dunbar and Schor ahead of the August 2021 primary about key issues facing Lansing.

RELATED: What Lansing, Jackson residents need to know before voting in November's election

READ MORE: Schor, Dunbar Win Lansing Mayoral Primary; Five Advance In City Council Election

MORE: These Are The Biggest Donors To Candidates For Lansing, Jackson Mayor Ahead Of The August Primary

Lansing City Council At-Large

Four candidates are competing in a citywide race for two at-large seats.

  • Jeffrey Brown
  • Claretta Duckett-Freeman
  • Peter Spadafore*
  • Rachel Willis

CANDIDATE Q&A: WKAR surveyed at-large Lansing City Council candidates before the August primary. Read responses from candidates who have advanced to the general.

Lansing City Council Ward 2

One candidate will be elected to represent southeast Lansing.

  • Jeremey A. Garza*
  • Oprah Revish

MORE: Meet The Candidates Running In The Lansing City Council Primary

CANDIDATE Q&A: WKAR surveyed Ward 2 Lansing City Council candidates before the August primary. Read responses from candidates who have advanced to the general.

Lansing City Council Ward 4

One candidate will be elected to represent northwest Lansing.

  • Elvin Caldwell
  • Brian T. Jackson*

CANDIDATE Q&A:Read responses from from Ward 4 contenders

Lansing City Clerk

Larry James Hutchinson, Jr., who lost a primary race for Lansing mayor in August, is running as a write-in to challenge incumbent clerk Chris Swope. The clerk's duties include running elections, keeping city records and issuing marijuana and other business licenses.

East Lansing City Council

East Lansing council seats are nonpartisan and elected citywide.

The following five candidates are competing for two spots serving a full, four-year term.

  • Daniel E. Bollman
  • George Brookover
  • Adam DeLay
  • Chuck Grigsby
  • Dana Watson*

And Mikey Manuel is challenging Ron Bacon* for a partial two-year term. The rest of the council appointed Bacon in 2020 to fill a vacancy created by the abrupt, mid-meeting resignation of Mark Meadows. Per the city charter, Bacon was designated to serve as a replacement until the city's next election.

MORE: Seven candidates face off in the Nov. election for three seats on the East Lansing City Council

RELATED: East Lansing's Musical Chairs Continue With Seven City Council Members On November Ballot

City of Leslie

Four candidates are competing for three at-large City Council seats.

  • Pamela L. Beegle*
  • Grady C. Doane*
  • Melissa Hanson-Eggleston
  • Robert Stacy

Matthew Johnson is running unopposed for Leslie mayor. The city's nonpartisan elected officials serve four-year terms.
City of Jackson Mayor

Two nonpartisan mayoral candidates are squaring off for a two-year term.

CANDIDATE Q & A: WKAR surveyed Jackson mayoral candidates before the August primary. Read responses from the candidates who advanced to the general.

  • Daniel J. Mahoney
  • John Wilson

READ MORE: Mahoney, Wilson Advance To November Election

RELATED: Four Face Off In Jackson Mayoral Primary

Jackson City Council

Dena Morgan and Arlene Robinson* are vying to represent Ward 1 in south central Jackson. In Ward 3, which is in northeast Jackson, Caleb Blondke and Angelita Gunn are competing.

Karen Burnell is unopposed in the Ward 5 race. City Council members serve four-year terms.

Charlotte Mayor

Two people are competing for a two-year term as Charlotte mayor.

  • Michael Armitage*
  • Branden Dyer

Charlotte City Council At-Large

In Charlotte's citywide race, three candidates are vying for one seat serving a four-year term.

  • Tina Curtis
  • Anthony Thomas Rodriguez
  • Zachary Story

Charlotte City Council District Races

In District 1, write-ins Curtis Jon Scott, Michael Hans Duweck and Christopher Steven Lake are competing for a full, four year-term representing the city's eastern half. Story is also running as a write-in for that full term after no candidates filed in time to be on the ballot.

In west Charlotte, Ronald Horvath is running against write-in against Valerie A. Resien to represent District 2.

City of Olivet

Two people are facing off for a two-year term as Olivet mayor.

  • Laura Barlond-Maas*
  • Pamela Steward-Bess


In an at-large race, six contenders are vying for four spots serving four years on the City Council.

  • Bruce Kring*
  • Jennifer Lenneman*
  • Michael Potter*
  • Paul E. Rogers*
  • Briant Titus
  • Cyndi Lou O’Neil (write-in)

More: Potterville voters could lift the city's ban on marijuana businesses

Sarah Lehr is a politics and civics reporter for WKAR News.
Support local journalism by becoming a new WKAR donor and get ad-free feeds of your favorite NPR podcasts with NPR+ when you donate $8/month or more! Make your contribution today to fund more vetted news reports throughout mid-Michigan!