© 2022 Michigan State University Board of Trustees
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Ten legends honored in inaugural MI Baseball Hall of Fame class

Jesse Goldberg-Strassler photo
Kevin Lavery
Lansing Lugnuts broadcaster Jesse Goldberg-Strassler at the Michigan Baseball Hall of Fame in Lansing's Cooley Law School Stadium.

From Trammell to Tuttle, Harwell to Newhouser, Michigan has produced some great figures in the history of baseball. This week, the first 10 inductees will be named to the Michigan Baseball Hall of Fame in Lansing. Current State’s Kevin Lavery takes us out to the ball game for a chat with Lansing Lugnuts broadcaster Jesse Goldberg-Strassler.

The Lansing Lugnuts are in the midst of a three-game home stand against the Wisconsin Timber Rattlers. Tomorrow afternoon, before the teams meet for their final game, a special ceremony will take place honoring Michigan’s finest ball players, coaches, and one legendary announcer. The Michigan Baseball Hall of Fame is inducting its first ten members.

The inductees are Jim Abbott, Bill Freehan, Charlie Gehringer, Ernie Harwell, Al Kaline, Hal Newhouser, Pat O’Keefe, John Smoltz, Alan Trammell and Larry Tuttle.

Current State’s Kevin Lavery went to Cooley Law School Stadium to talk with Lugnuts announcer Jesse Goldberg-Strassler.

Kevin Lavery is a general assignment reporter and occasional local host for Morning Edition and All Things considered.
Related Content
WKAR News coverage is made possible by supporters who value fact-based journalism. Your contribution of $7 or more every month helps to keep the independent reporting available throughout mid-Michigan. Donate now to do your part to fund more local and national stories. Thank you!