© 2024 Michigan State University Board of Trustees
Public Media from Michigan State University
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Election Day: Mayor, City Council in Lansing; Tax Proposals, Council Seats in EL

Front of Lansing City Hall building
WKAR Photo
There will be some new faces at Lansing's Hollister City Hall after Election Day.

It’s election day in Lansing, where voters will choose a new mayor for the first time in 12 years. The race to replace Virg Bernero as mayor in Lansing comes to a head today, with state Representative Andy Schor and city council at-large member Judi Brown Clarke hoping to win the top job.

There also are city council elections in the city. At-large seats will go to the top two vote-getters from four candidates: incumbent Kathie Dunbar and challengers Peter Spadafore, Guillermo Lopez and Kyle Bowman. In ward two, councilmember Tina Houghton faces Jeremy Garza. Newcomers Brian T. Jackson and James McClurken are vying for the fourth ward seat.

City Clerk Chris Swope is opposed by Jeremic Clayborn III in his bid for re-election.

Also on the ballot in Lansing is a measure authorizing the sale of the Cooley-Haze House.

There’s a county-wide proposal in Ingham County establishing separate tax limitations for the county, townships and the intermediate school district. And, in Mason, there’s a school bonding proposal.

In East Lansing today, the election focuses on tax measures and a city council election.

Two measures on the ballot in East Lansing are meant to address the city’s $190-million dollar budget shortfall. One would create an income tax in the city for the first time. Residents would pay one-percent, while non-residents who work in East Lansing would pay one-half of one-percent. For homeowners, the income tax would be offset to a degree by the other proposal, if both pass. It would cut property taxes from about 17.5 mills to 12.5 mills.

Two city council seats are also up for grabs, and incumbents Susan Woods and Ruth Beier hope to stay. There’s one challenger, Aaron Stephens.

In Eaton County, there’s a 9-1-1 surcharge on the ballot. If passed, there would be a surcharge of up to $1.75 per month on landline, VOIP and wireless services to pay for the emergency dispatch radio system from next July 1st through the end of 2021.

Polling places are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Scott Pohl is a general assignment news reporter and produces news features and interviews. He is also an alternate local host on NPR's "Morning Edition."
Related Content
Journalism at this station is made possible by donors who value local reporting. Donate today to keep stories like this one coming. It is thanks to your generosity that we can keep this content free and accessible for everyone. Thanks!