© 2022 Michigan State University Board of Trustees
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Winners Named After Slow Port Huron to Mackinac Island Race


This year's Port Huron to Mackinac Island sailboat race on Lake Huron was so slow that the awards were handed out as some competitors still were heading to the finish line.

The Bell's Beer Bayview Mackinac Race started Saturday under light winds and the weather didn't make for quick progress.

Most years the first boats finish on Sunday, but this year the first two finishers didn't arrive until Monday morning.

Organizers say 11 boats still were heading to Mackinac Island when the awards ceremony started Tuesday afternoon.

Matthew Schaedler's Blitzkrieg won the Cove Island Course overall; Ben Gougeon and Alan Gurski's Adagio won for multihulls on that course; and Al and Bob Declercq's Flying Buffalo won the Shore Course.

Winners are determined using a handicapping system.

News from WKAR will never be behind a paywall. Ever. We need your help to keep our coverage free for everyone. Please consider supporting the news you rely on with a donation today. You can support our journalism for as little as $5. Every contribution, no matter the size, propels our vital coverage. Thank you.