© 2022 Michigan State University Board of Trustees
Public Media from Michigan State University
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00
0:00
Available On Air Stations
Politics & Government

Starting Today, Leniency for Minors Caught With Alcohol for the First Time

Police Lights
publicdomainpictures
/

Starting today, minors found in possession of alcohol will get a little more leniency under Michigan law.

The consequences defined by Michigan’s minor is possession or MIP law are changing starting January first.

The first MIP offense will be a civil infraction, instead of a misdemeanor.

A minor will have to pay a fine and could be sentenced to community service or to substance abuse classes.

The civil infraction will appear on a person’s driving record.

Michael Sepic is the prosecuting attorney in Berrien County. He said the law will keep youth from having criminal records for one relatively minor offense.

“I think what the legislature was trying to do was prevent the negative consequences outside the criminal justice system that sometimes follow a young person a ways through life," said Sepic.

The second offense remains a misdemeanor, with the possibility of 30 days in jail. 

Sepic said it will take a while to see if the law is effective.

“The jury will be out for a while to see if this relaxed penalty results in more damage," said Sepic.

Sepic said one issue with the change that hasn’t been ironed out is how to keep track of first offenses for minors who don’t have a driver’s license.

Related Content
News from WKAR will never be behind a paywall. Ever. We need your help to keep our coverage free for everyone. Please consider supporting the news you rely on with a donation today. You can support our journalism for as little as $5. Every contribution, no matter the size, propels our vital coverage. Thank you.