© 2023 Michigan State University Board of Trustees
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

WKAR Kids Science Show Wins Third National Award

Crew with heart model
Amanda Pinckney
Curious Crew host Dr. Rob Stephenson and Crew investigators

Curious Crew honored by National Educational Telecommunications Association

Curious Crew, the WKAR original science show for kids, was honored with its third national award during the National Educational Telecommunications Association Awards gala on Jan. 26, 2020.  The awards gala was the opening event of the 2020 NETA Conference and CPB Public Media Thought Leaders Forum at the Crystal Gateway Marriott hotel in Arlington, VA.

Each year, the NETA Awards honor public television’s best work in education, community engagement, marketing/communications and content.

The Curious Crew episode “Wedges” won the award in the category Content: Education/Schools. The award recognizes an exemplary creation of a feature or segment from a program, series or special that covers schools, teaching or education.

posing with award
Credit Courtesy / NETA
(l-r) Julie Sochay, WKAR senior director of Content and Communication, and Robin Pizzo, director of Education, accepted the award for Curious Crew at the NETA Gala on Jan. 26, 2020

"WKAR is honored to receive this award from NETA, recognizing all of the hard work our team puts into producing Curious Crew," said Julie Sochay, senior director of WKAR Content and Communication. "STEM education is important to our young people and we are pleased to offer a program that encourages curiosity and hands-on learning. Thank you to  Dr. Rob Stephenson, Carol Yancho and our production team for leading the way."

This is the third national award for the series since Curious Crew first aired in October 2014. Curious Crew has been honored with two additional national awards (NETA and Telly), eight regional Emmy awards, and three Broadcast Excellence Awards from the Michigan Association of Broadcasters.

The NETA awards are presented to projects from public television stations across the country. The competition honors member stations' finest work in community engagement, promotion, instructional media, and content production.  | View full list of awards here.

“The quality of the entries submitted by our member stations this year truly speaks for itself,” said NETA president Eric Hyyppa. “Congratulations to all of the 2020 NETA Awards winners and nominees. We’re very proud to celebrate such outstanding work.”

Curious Crew is distributed to public broadcasting stations across the country by NETA.

Season six of the WKAR original series debuts Monday, March 2, 2020, on WKAR-HD 23.1 in Michigan’s Capital Region.

Season six of Curious Crew is made possible in part with support from Michigan State University Federal Credit Union and Consumers Energy.

Related Content
Donate $5/month or more, support award-winning journalism, AND enjoy digital access to The New York Times Cooking or The Athletic as our gift of thanks, along with WKAR Passport, for streaming your favorite PBS and WKAR TV programs on your own schedule. SIGN UP TODAY!