© 2022 Michigan State University Board of Trustees
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
News and notes from the world of classical music.

Mendelssohn 'Italian' | A2SO Live on 90.5 FM

Pianist Roman Rabinovich

Sat. Nov. 7 - 8pm 90.5 FM | Live from the Michigan Theater, the  Ann Arbor Symphony Orchestra presents live Mendelssohn 'Italian' with Roman Rabinovich.

This special broadcast is available exclusively over-the-air on 90.5 (no online streaming).

Celebrate Sibelius' 150th Birthday with the Karelia Suite, a tone poem rich with folk melodies and fond memories of his favorite region of Finland. You'll hear why soloist Roman Rabinovich won the prestigious Rubinstein Piano Competition with this very Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 3, one of the best-known piano concertos of the 20th century. The concert concludes with what Maestro Arie Lipsky calls "the Perfect Symphony," Mendelssohn's "Italian" Symphony No. 4, where every shining note is brilliant and right.

On the Program

Sibelius KareliaSuite, Op. 11
Prokofiev Piano Concerto No. 3 in C major, Op. 26 with Roman Rabinovich, piano
Mendelssohn Symphony No. 4 in A major, Op. 90, "Italian"

News from WKAR will never be behind a paywall. Ever. We need your help to keep our coverage free for everyone. Please consider supporting the news you rely on with a donation today. You can support our journalism for as little as $5. Every contribution, no matter the size, propels our vital coverage. Thank you.