© 2022 Michigan State University Board of Trustees
Public Media from Michigan State University
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

MSU Trustees Elect Byrum Chairperson; Kelly Vice-Chair

MSU Trustees Dianne Byrum (L) and Melanie Foster will be leading the search for the next university president.
Katie Cook
Dianne Byrum (L) will chair the MSU Board of Trustees. She co-chairs the presidential search committee with Trustee Melanie Foster (R).

The Michigan State University Board of Trustees today elected Dianne Byrum to serve as chairperson for the next two years. She got five votes to three for fellow Democrat Brian Mossalam. Republican Dan Kelly was elected vice chair.

After her election, Byrum introduced a resolution that the Board will direct the administration to establish a fund for counseling and mental health services for Larry Nassar abuse survivors. The resolution was approved unanimously. The action would create a new fund, replacing the Healing Fund that was shut down late in 2018.

Today’s meeting was the first of the year, and the first for new Trustees Nancy Schlichting, Breanna Scott and Kelly Tebay.

Related Content
News from WKAR will never be behind a paywall. Ever. We need your help to keep our coverage free for everyone. Please consider supporting the news you rely on with a donation today. You can support our journalism for as little as $5. Every contribution, no matter the size, propels our vital coverage. Thank you.